Print this page printer Icon

English language proficiency test requirements

Effectively communicating with your students, colleagues and the wider school community is one of the most important professional standards for teachers.  If you have completed tertiary studies that make you eligible for accreditation as a teacher in NSW from a country other than the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, the United States of America, New Zealand or Canada, you will be required to successfully complete an approved English language proficiency test before you can be provisionally or conditionally accredited by Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards (BOSTES).

  • For exemption from the English proficiency test requirements, all four years of your overseas teaching qualification must have been completed in English in the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, United States, New Zealand or Canada.
  • If you have previously completed an approved English test the results should be no more than 2 years old when you apply for accreditation.
  • All Australian states and territories have the same English test requirement for teachers, which also reflects the requirements for migration to Australia under a Skilled Migrants Visa.

Approved English tests and results needed

Results needed: A in each of the four skill areas of listening, speaking, reading and writing.

Taking the PEAT preparation course at TAFE

Results needed for accreditation: an average band score of 7.5 across all four skill areas of listening, speaking, reading and writing, with no score below 7.0 in any of the four skill areas and a score of no less than 8.0 in speaking and listening.

More information on the IELTS

  • International Second Language Proficiency Rating (ISLPR): This test was originally developed as the ASLPR (Australian Second Language Proficiency Rating). It was developed at Griffith University and is available in a form specifically designed to test language proficiency in the teaching context.

Results needed: A score of Level 4 in all four skill areas of listening, speaking, reading and writing, undertaken at approved testing sites where the assessment is teacher focused.

More information

Download the Policy on the English Language Proficiency of Teachers at Provisional or Conditional Accreditation (PDF 74 KB).